Gears of War 3 – ‘Fenix Rising’ DLC Contents – Coming January 17th

Fenix Rising

UPDATE: Achievements and Map Preview here.

As many of you may know and if your a Gears of War fan, your surely know that the next Downloadable Content Pack for Gears of War 3 is entitled ‘Fenix Rising’. It will be apart of the Season Pass if you purchased it, which was just recently on sale for 50% off and so far Epic has not disappointed with the content released for the game so far. It will otherwise cost you 800 Microsoft Points when it is released January 17th, 2012.

Fenix Rising will come with a whole bunch of goodies. Those who never had a chance to play the beta will be able to play as Thrashball Cole (Limited Edition) and those who have been itching for some of the pre-order characters, the Savage Kantus will also be included which was previously only available through pre-orders.

[one_third last=”no”]We happen to have codes for all the pre-order characters, liquid green lancer skins codes which we may hold a contest for soon. Still no word on the Gears of War: Exile project that Epic is keeping quiet about, rumors may lead one to believe it is more DLC or a separate Kinect based game.[/one_third]Gears of War: Exile

The new DLC will not just add another 250 Gamerscore with new Achievement or new maps but will also have a unique system called ‘Re-up’, which is essentially a Prestige mode for Gears of War 3. Once you reach level 100 you can then start all over again at level 1, keeping everything else (medals, badges, stats) but you will have a different colored icon next to your name each time you do it. It can be done up to 4 times maximum and you MUST have the Fenix Rising DLC to Re-up. Also every time you do it you will be granted another weapon skin only available through the ‘Re-up’ feature. There are 4 Tiers of Colors. Bronze>Red>Green>Gold.

You will gain the following skins for doing this:
– Plasma – Animated Plasma in GOLD
– Omen – Shiny Red Omen
– Electric – Animated Golden Electric Shocks

Moving past level 100 without re-upping, the system will not record you overlapping XP and carry it over. Here are the following Characters and Maps included.

Recruit Clayton – Clayton was born a Gear, grew up a Gear, and on the very day he became eligible, he signed himself up to become the capable, confident, and devoted Gear he’d always known he could be.

Thrashball Cole (Special Limited Edition) – The Cole Train prefers to take the most direct path to the Locust Horde in any situation. What he lacks in finesse, he makes up in raw energy.

Savage Kantus (Special Limted Edition) – The Savage Kantus were profoundly impacted by the loss of the Hollow. They have reverted to a primal, shamanistic state, and their battle cries have taken a dark, melancholy turn. Few sounds are as terrifying to human ears.

Savage Marauder Drone – Locust Marauders were the first to form any sort of organization outside of the Hollow – if their brutal infighting and bloodthirsty raiding parties could truly be called organized.

Fenix Rising Characters



Haldane Hall has been the home of the Fenix family for countless generations. But the only history that matters to Marcus’s are his memories of warm summer evenings spent with his mother, Elain, relaxing in the estate’s gardens. Sadly, all the estate’s history and beauty was lost when the Locust destroyed it in an attempt to kidnap his father.


The fortress of Anvegad was called Anvil Gate because its impenetrable walls were forged in the fires of war. Huge cannons sat atop battlements that guarded sprawling walls running the line of the UIR borders. Marcus went there to find Hoffman, and they both thought that Anvil Gate would offer protection from the incoming forces of Locust and Lambent. They were wrong, and little remains other than the ruined shell of a once mighty fortress.


The excessive opulence of Azura defied all normal reasoning. But Adam Fenix could see the cracks in the veneer of splendor from the moment he arrived at this underwater processing center. And all that beauty mattered not at all once he was held captive by the Locust. Out of options, he had to find a way to contact Marcus, and finally reveal the truths he’d been keeping to himself for all these many years.


Convicted for insubordination and treason, Marcus was incarcerated in Jacinto Maximum Security Prison. Known as “The Slab”, this prison is not a correctional facility – it’s a place where Sera’s worst offenders are locked up and forgotten. The inmates are brutal, parole is not an option, and the average life expectancy is about two years. But that was before the Locust showed up, and what couldn’t get worse, suddenly did. Now your life expectancy there is around 2 minutes.


The lineage of the Fenix family can be traced back along a distinguished line of military officers. Officer training at the Oracle Academy was simply the expected path for Marcus, and he had visited the grounds many times in expectation that he would walk the same path as his ancestors. But it was not to be, and Marcus broke with tradition to be with his best friends Dom and Carlos. Like any number of fine Seran traditions, the Academy is now lost to the invasion of the Locust Horde.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.